Toast Alternatives: Do the Exit Math Before You Switch
4 November 2026 · 10 min read · SwitchYourPOS is published by KwickPOS, a restaurant POS company. None of the companies named on this page is affiliated with it. Prices and terms checked 3 November 2026.
Most lists of Toast alternatives start with features. If you are already on Toast, the better first question is when you can leave and what it costs, because that decides whether you switch this month, at your renewal date, or next year. This page works that out from Toast's own Merchant Agreement, then sorts the alternatives by the problem you are trying to fix, using only prices and terms each company publishes on its own site.
What Toast's agreement says about leaving
Toast's Merchant Agreement (last updated September 10, 2025) has six clauses that decide your exit. Your order form fills in the term and the fees.
| Clause | What it says | What it means when you leave |
|---|---|---|
| 8.1 Term | After the initial term, the agreement "shall automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods" | Every renewal is a fresh 12 months |
| 8.1 Notice | "at least thirty (30) days' written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term" | Your real deadline is 30 days before the term ends |
| 14.2 How to notify | "registered mail, postage prepaid, return receipt requested" to Toast, Inc., 333 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210, Attn: General Counsel | An email or a support chat does not meet this clause |
| 8.4 Early termination | The remaining software subscription fees for the rest of the term, or for Pay-as-you-go "$150.00 multiplied by the number of months remaining", plus "any applicable processing fee related to Software financing" | The fee shrinks every month you wait |
| 8.1 Renewal terms | A renewal term follows "the then-current version of the Merchant Agreement" and earlier "special terms or promotions" are "no longer valid" | A promotional price may not survive renewal |
| 8.5 Your data | Toast "will have the right to irretrievably delete and destroy Merchant Data after thirty (30) days following the termination" | Export before you give notice |
Our Toast vs Square cost-to-switch page works through an early-termination fee in the middle of a 24-month initial term. This page looks at the more common case for an established restaurant: you are past the initial term and inside a one-year renewal.
Worked example: the renewal date matters more than the fee
Example only: a restaurant whose current renewal term runs 1 March 2026 to 28 February 2027, with $200 a month of software subscriptions on its Toast order. Use the figures on your own order. Here is what each exit costs in software fees, measured from 4 November 2026.
| Exit | Months of fees still owed | Subscription order ($200/mo) | Pay-as-you-go order |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminate effective 30 November 2026 | 3 (Dec, Jan, Feb) | $600 early termination fee | $450 early termination fee (3 × $150) |
| Notice given by 29 January 2027, leave 28 February 2027 | 3, paid as normal monthly fees | $600 in fees, no termination fee | Normal Pay-as-you-go charges, no termination fee |
| Notice missed, leave in March 2027 | 12 (the new renewal term) | $2,400 | $1,800 (12 × $150) |
Two things fall out of this. On a regular subscription, leaving early and leaving at the end of the term cost the same software dollars, because the fee is the fees you would have paid anyway. What differs is the rest of your bill: card processing at Toast's rate keeps running until you leave, and so does anything else on the order. The expensive mistake is the third row. Missing a notice date by a week turns $600 into $2,400 in this example.
So the timing rule is simple. If your term ends within about four months, send the registered-mail notice now, set up the new system in the final month, and leave on the end date. If it ends further out, compare the termination fee with what you would save each month on the new system; the exit pays for itself once the monthly saving times the months left is larger than the fee.

The cheaper exit most owners miss
Section 6.2 lets Toast change "Card processing rates and other non-Software Fees at any time during the Term upon thirty (30) days' prior written notice", and any fee at the start of or during a renewal term. If the change is to card processing rates or to the fee for Toast's monthly POS core tablet subscription, you can give written notice before the effective date that you are terminating, and "the Early Termination Fee under Section 8.4 shall not apply (other than the processing fee for Software financing)."
The catch is the deadline. If you keep using the service after the effective date, you "shall be deemed to have accepted such change(s)". Keep every rate-change notice, diary its effective date, and decide before that date. A change to a single add-on module only lets you remove that module, not leave.
The FTC and eight states sued Toast on 29 October 2026. What the FTC alleges about the termination fee and renewal notice, and Toast's response (it denies the charges), is in our FTC case explainer and contract checklist. The case is pending, so the clauses above are the terms in force today.
Before you give notice: data, hardware and overlap
- Export first. The agreement lets you ask, within 30 days of termination, for access "solely and exclusively to the extent necessary" to retrieve your data, and says Toast "has no obligation to retain Merchant Data". Pull menus, modifiers, customer lists, gift-card balances, and at least 12 months of sales and labor reports while your account is fully open. Our data backup guide lists what to take.
- Know what your hardware is. Section 2.2 says title and ownership of hardware shipped to you transfer "at the point of shipment", and for Pay-as-you-go orders Toast "shall not seek recourse against Hardware purchased in a Pay-as-you-go Order". Toast's services "may only be used on approved Toast Hardware", but the agreement says nothing either way about other software on those devices. If you financed hardware through a third-party lender, that credit agreement has its own terms; read them before you stop paying Toast.
- Plan on new terminals. SpotOn's pricing FAQ answers "Can I use my own POS hardware or tablets?" with "No." TouchBistro's software price carries the note "Hardware required". Square and Lightspeed sell their own hardware. Ask any vendor in writing which of your printers, cash drawers and kitchen screens it supports.
- Run both for a short overlap. Leaving at the term end gives you a natural window: build the new menu and train staff during the last month on Toast, then switch on a slow day. Our parallel-running guide covers how to do it without double-ringing orders.
Toast alternatives by what you want to fix
Each figure below is from the vendor's own pricing page. Toast's in-person card rate is not published on its pricing page; it is quoted per restaurant.
| System and plan | Software per month | In-person card rate | Counter hardware | Term stated on the page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toast Point of Sale (for reference) | From $69 | Not published | Approved Toast hardware only | Set by your order; renews yearly |
| Square Free | $0 | 2.6% + 15¢ | Register $899 | No monthly subscription |
| Square Plus | $49 per location | 2.5% + 15¢ | Register $899 | Cancel or switch anytime |
| SpotOn POS Essentials | $55 per station | 2.45% + 15¢ (Amex 3.19% + 15¢) | Station 15 $750, plus implementation | Month-to-month |
| SpotOn All-In | $0 per station | 2.79% + 20¢ | Included | 2-year minimum, processing minimums |
| Lightspeed Restaurant Starter / Essential / Premium | 69 / 189 / 399 USD (billing period not stated) | Not published | Not priced on the page | Not stated |
| TouchBistro Point of Sale / Essentials Bundle | From $69 / from $119 | Not published | Required / included in Essentials | Not stated |
Clover is not in this table because its restaurant pricing page blocks automated checks; our Square vs Clover page has the Clover bundle prices read in a browser.
- Lower fixed cost: Square Free has no monthly subscription and Square Plus is $49 per location. SpotOn All-In is $0 a month with hardware included, but you pay for it through a higher card rate, a two-year minimum term and processing minimums; SpotOn's own FAQ says so.
- No term: Square says of Plus and Premium that "you can cancel or switch plans anytime"; SpotOn describes POS Essentials as "month-to-month flexibility". Lightspeed and TouchBistro don't state a term on their pricing pages, so get it in writing.
- Choose your own processor: TouchBistro's FAQ says it "is compatible with a wide range of payment processing solutions". Square and SpotOn process their own payments (SpotOn: it "provides integrated payments for all of our POS offerings"). Lightspeed's plan table shows integrated payments as "Default" on Starter and "Custom" on Essential and Premium.
- Support hours: Toast's pricing page says Toast Care is open "24/7/365". To match that on Square you need Premium; Square Plus phone support is 6am–6pm PT Monday to Friday. SpotOn says it provides "24/7/365 technical support" at no extra cost, TouchBistro lists phone and email 24/7, and Lightspeed lists "24/7 support". None of the four publishes on-site or local support terms.
- Specific features: Lightspeed prices its kitchen display system at $30 per screen per month on all three plans and offers Pro Services (one-on-one support and API access) on Essential and Premium. Square's KDS app is $30 a month per device on Plus and $20 on Premium. SpotOn's Core Bundle, a special offer, adds commission-free online ordering and automated marketing for $50 a month plus 0.20% of card volume, with that part capped at $200. TouchBistro says it does not charge commission fees on its own online orders.
First- and second-year cost at $30,000 a month
Example only: one counter station, $30,000 a month in in-person card sales at a $30 average ticket (1,000 payments a month), no American Express. Totals add software, card fees and counter hardware bought outright. Lightspeed and TouchBistro can't be included because neither publishes its card rate.
| Plan | Card fees per month | Software per month | Hardware | 12-month total | 24-month total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Square Plus + Register | $900 | $49 | $899 | $12,287 | $23,675 |
| SpotOn POS Essentials + Station 15 | $885 | $55 | $750 + implementation | $12,030 | $23,310 |
| SpotOn All-In | $1,037 | $0 | Included | $12,444 | $24,888 |
How the Square row works: 2.5% × $30,000 = $750, plus 15¢ × 1,000 = $150, so $900 a month in card fees; add $49 and you have $949 a month, or $11,388 over 12 months before the $899 Register. SpotOn Essentials is $15 a month cheaper on card fees here and $6 dearer on software, but every extra station adds $55 a month, while Square Plus is priced per location. The All-In plan's $0 software costs about $152 a month more in card fees at this volume. Add the Toast exit cost from the earlier example to whichever you choose.
Which alternative fits
- Stay on Toast if it works for your service, your term has many months left and the saving elsewhere is small; use the months to export data and line up the switch for the renewal date.
- Choose Square if you want published prices, no term and one price per location, and a small counter or café setup.
- Choose SpotOn POS Essentials if you want month-to-month terms with a published card rate slightly under Square Plus, 24/7 support, and you are comfortable buying SpotOn's own hardware.
- Choose SpotOn All-In if keeping cash in hand now matters more than total cost, and you are confident about two years and its processing minimums.
- Choose TouchBistro if you want to pick or keep your own card processor; ask for the term and hardware quote in writing.
- Choose Lightspeed if you want a choice of three published software tiers, offline mode and custom payment rates on Essential and Premium. Get the card rate and term quoted before you compare.
KwickPOS is a restaurant and salon POS sold through local resellers; kwickpos.com lists where to find one if you want another quote.
Sources
- Toast: Merchant Agreement (last updated September 10, 2025); Toast pricing
- Square for Restaurants: pricing; Square restaurant hardware
- SpotOn: restaurant pricing
- Lightspeed Restaurant: pricing; Lightspeed Payments
- TouchBistro: pricing
Prices and terms checked 3 November 2026. Worked examples are illustrations, not quotes; they use the vendors' published prices, in-person payments only, before taxes. Your Toast order sets your real term and fees. Not legal advice; confirm current prices and terms with each vendor before you sign.